BOOK REVIEW: GEEKERELLA

Geekerella by Ashely Poston
Rating: 5/5
Started:May 21, 2017
Finished:May 22, 2017
Anything can happen once upon a con…
When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all—not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.
Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfield fandom has already dismissed him as just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

5/5 meaning I need to buy this book ASAP. I loved this book sooo much. I tried to wait a while to process the greatness that is this book. Now I go back through and I still feel that excitement you get when you are reading an AWESOME book. I do not own this book and I need to buy it ASAP. I’ve seen some people give it some negative reviews and compare it to Another Cinderella Story. I DISAGREE. this book is sooo much better than that and I respectfully disagree. Well without further wait THE REVIEW:

Oh stars above this is hard. You have no idea how much I loved this book. it is more than everything I had expected it to be. It is just…beautiful. I does not help the fact that it is retailing of one of my favorite fairy tales.

WORLD: This book gave us a bit of a limited world that you would expect from the character and story line we were given. The world building was really good in how we got all the needed information but rather than a tell-us kind of introduction we got a show-us. Meaning rather than it being all just narrated without emotion it was something we got to see Elle think about and have emotions about

CHARACTERS: For this we got two points of view, Elle and Darien’s and while this is not normally something I liked it was actually pretty good and smooth.

DANELLE: Had we met her from Darien’s point of view we would have seen a fan who is just rude and thinks that just because someone is famous they can say whatever they want about them.

Yet since we got her point we got to see how Poston really stuck to the Cinderella theme for her character. From her having a stepmother and step sisters to her having some pumpkin like ride to the Con.
Elle is a character many fans can relate to in one way to another. Whether its her love and dedication to the fandom. How she has grown up with her fandom. Or just how she writes about it and is always looking for someone to fangirl with. She has grown up with her fandom and is proud of it. She is a girl who really stands up for herself and her  believes. Although she also has had to suffer the unfairness of life with her family.
I really love how Poston was able to take the whole Cinderella thing and make it fit with her being a fangirl.

Darien: Oh Darien. if we would have only seen him from Elle’s point of view all we would have seen was a guy who was in it for the money and the fame.

Yet as we saw Darien’s side we go to see how this “little gig” meant a lot to him. We saw a bit into this famous person life behind the sense thing that many of us don’t consider. I can tell you it does not seem to all just be fun and roses. And his love for his fandom. It’s just a beautiful thing to see. He also seemed to have an amazing sense of humor and wasn’t as shallow as you would expect a famous person to be.

 

ROMANCE:
I honestly have a lot of mixed feelings over this so we have two parts to this

Pros: I feel like this book really caught that whole online dating thing. Even though a lot of people frown on online dating and stuff like this, I love how it is portrayed. If we think about it there are not  a lot of cases but there are times that people do connect through the internet and fall in love. Sure it is unrealistic and at times seems stupid but hey, it happens! The romantic side of me is all for this romance and it’s just so cute when they would just text each other and the connection they had of finally finding someone who understood them.
Cons: Like all the reading I do, I sometimes do take my time and process things and think realistically. For this is the whole thing of how this relationship is something that is basically impossible and will most likely not happen in really life. Then there’s the whole lack of wariness of texting a complete stranger. Sure in a certain light it sounds cute…Yet when thought through the other person could be a freaking creepy, murderer or criminal.

So basically just the actual fact of incorporating technology into this romance is realistic to todays world but like the real world it has those ehhhh moments.

BOOK IN GENERAL: THE FREAKING FANDOM REFERENCES I loved how many of the most know fandoms got recognized and got a little shout out in this book. It was a lot of fun just reading this book and finding a lot of the fandoms many of us are members of be in this book. Just the whole feeling of fandom unity was beautiful.

The way this book stuck to the whole Cinderella theme was something I loved. It was a bit predictable in the way it followed the plot but I feel that’s how a retailing is supposed to work the majority of the time. ‘The humor in this book was amazing. A lot of the characters were very sassy and sarcastic. Plus the whole thing with Darien’s insured abs….


What are cons? I’m serious, I feel in love with this book so much that I can’t help and be bias about it. I would say that I wish I had something against this book but as a fangirl im ok with not having anything against this book. While as a reviewer I feel like im being extremely bias towards this book and im letting my emotions take over. I have seen a few negative reviews for this book but I disagree.

Seeing as I annoted the heck out of this book keep your eyes out for the “official” spoiler review for this.

Leave a Reply

